Using objects "by name"

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
With this template you will learn how to use the GooglePlay Games native plugin
  • I've been talking about this on forum for a few years from time to time - hope in C3 discussions it has more chances.

Since we can refer to audiofiles "by name" (like "Play (by name)"), can we create objects by name and refer to them?

Like instead of well known "click to choose" we will have a field to enter object's name.

Such a flexible logic can be really handy in many situations like:

1. When you use array or CSV to store data about units and spawn them. For sure, i can spawn a sprite named "Unit", refer to it's animation to define unit type\graphics and then do a ton of actions to set some specific parameters (movement speed, HP, damage, etc.). But hell i could predefine them in different objects and then just spawn.

2. When you have a lot of objects on the scene and on touch you react in specific ways (like get damage from subject). For sure, i can hardcode every case (a ton of similar events) or somehow use the family. But hell i could just do 1 abstract action like set player.HP to self.HP - subject.damage or even self.HP - touch.subject.damage.

Overall, it would be really cool to have more abstraction in events so we can save time and do more simple-looking code.

• This has been regularly suggested for C2 for a while now, but my main concerns are:

1) lots of users are worried about their projects getting reverse-engineered, and to make this harder currently we strip out all object names from the project. To support this, we'd need to add them back in.