Physics in an infinite sidescroller

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
59 unique spaceships created in pixel art style within 48 x 48 pixels. Great for creating side scroller shooter games.
  • Hi everyone,

I am currently trying to do a simple side scroller in an infinite level by scrolling the items through the screen and respawning them on the right. The player basically only moves up and down. This seems a lot harder than I thought. FYI: Im a rather experienced programmer (mostly not in gaming) and new to Construct2. Now sidescrolling is a pretty simple thing, or so I thought, thus I am rather disappointed on how difficult it proves to be. The way I tried it, it breaks some profound assumptions of the physics behaviour, and I am very much interested to hear what others have to say to my current approach:

I have solid physics objects, some immovable ones (ground+platforms) and other movable ones (player sprite+items). Whenever the player "moves", all non-player objects move to the left while the player remains stationary in X. I just used set object.x = object.x-velocityX for all of them. This "simple" position change of movable physics objects breaks the physics behaviour completely, they wobble around and motion after collision is completely wild. So instead of assigning the items' x positions I now disable the items' physics until a collision occurs, so they are glued to the platforms and bumped away on collision by physics.