How do I make physics objects to calm down and go to sleep

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
From the Asset Store
Simple yet very life-like rag doll made with Physics!
  • Sorry if this a silly question, I'm new to physics.

I need to be able to put two square physics boxes on top of each other, but they keep shaking and sliding.

Debug mode shows that even when one box is lying on the floor, it never goes into Sleeping mode, its velocity is constantly changing a little.

This happens when either the box or the floor has Elasticity>0.

But I want boxes to bounce when dropped, so I need elasticity.

Is there any way to fix this?

CAPX

• Hi dop,

I can't give you a full solution, but I can offer some improvements. (I'm pretty much a physics newbie too)

The resting on the floor problem can be improved greatly by using the native size of your floor object, rather than stretching it at runtime, due to rounding errors.

The janky movement when dragging is caused by using a non physics method of moving around the object. As mentioned on the manual page, this is normally not recommended (drag and drop can't take into account collisions and center of gravity rotations ect, so the two behaviors will fight each other to position the object).

I'm not sure whats going on with the two boxes resting on each other. Again try to make sure that the native size of the object matches what is placed in the layout editor to minimize rounding errors, although this didn't seem to help in this particular example.

• Thanks, oosyrag!

I tried native sizes and I tried setting "Collision Mask=Bounding box" for the floor and boxes, unfortunately it didn't help.

As for the drag&drop, I used it just for this demo, in a real game I have a different control system.