Big problem with units (pathfinding & collisions) - RTS game

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Units do not overlap each other and use different ways if there are several free ways.
  • Hello,

I'm new to Construct 2 and I'm trying to create an classic real time strategy game since a few weeks. Things went very well at the beginning, but now I'm completely lost (I've already searched for a solution here on the forums, found nothing):

At the moment all the units in my game can move directly through other units (something I don't want), but when I'm setting them to solid, the units won't move at all in most cases (I guess a unit "stands in it's own way", regarding the pathfinding).

When I change the obstacles for pathfinding from solid to custom and add the unit types manually, it only works if the unit type of the unit itself is not added (example: a light tank can be obstacle for a heavy tank, but other heavy tanks can NOT be obstacles for your heavy tank...). I think the problem is exactly the same like it is when giving the units the solid behaviour...

I hope my explanation is somehow understandable. Is there a way in Construct 2 to create a RTS with 'solid' units moving around?

Does anybody have any idea or hint for me?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for any reply.

Best Regards

Dante

• You can set Solid enabled/dissabled in an action.

So right before you Regenerate obstacle map and Find path, dissable the Solid for the object you want a path for.

And enable after it after the on found the path.

• Here's one solution:

It basically just moves separate units away from each other if they get too close.

Another idea floating around the forum is to use the physics behavior on the units so they push each other. For best results there you'd want to move the objects using the physics behavior instead of letting the pathfinding behavior do it.