Mod You can delete this.....

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
  • Im deleting this as I was just saying Hi and want to use the webhost link for game testing instead (as google drive has no more hosting)

so the link wont be valid any more unless you want to see my baby steps in construct...

cheers

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I like the effect you're using on the lava, it's the same effect they use in the water in Where's My Water, right? Really cool.

• That is definitely not the way to do it efficiently

• When it was below 20 fps, it has been reset the layout.

• @andreyin

yea I suppose it must be, but i don’t take the credit for this. it is a plug in effect I got from the effects section in the forum called "alpha threshold".

https://www.scirra.com/forum/effect-alpha-threshold_t74372

@Whiteclaws

The object of the test was to be the opposite of efficient.

I am new to the browser game concept, when looking into it all I find is mostly 1000s of simple, shallow, derivative but nice looking games hosted on HTML5 gaming websites. I was thinking this is an indication of the limitations of the HTML/JS in browser as a gaming platform. So I just wanted to see what was possible.

I wanted to see how many physics objects could be implemented in a browser game on an oldish low end PC before a game falls over.

also note that I am deliberately disturbing the balls with the dude flying around so that no ball can sleep so cpu has to constantly do calculation for each ball.

Also each ball uses 3 sprites. One invisible for the physics ball, one yellow for the alpha blend liquid effect and one red transparent additive for the glow. So if you have 1000 physics balls you have 3000 sprites to be drawn with quite CPU intensive overlays.