I made an SVG editor over the weekend because I could.

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Supports 1D, 2D, 3D arrays. Import and export arrays in JSON format
  • https://whscience.org/whsvg/

I sort of had a reason. I'm a teacher and in my state, students cannot use any service that requires giving any personal information including name or email address unless the district has a contract with the service. That means most free online tools are out. They are also on chromebooks so mot open-source software is out. I wanted my students to make SVG diagrams but the only option I found is svg-edit which they didn't like.

So... I decided to make a very simple SVG editor for my students.

It's done 100% in events. It doesn't use the SVG or XML plug-ins at all. Objects are invisible sprites with DrawingCanvas on top so that the stroke renders correctly. I probably should have used XML to read the SVG files, but I kept making progress using tokenat type expressions.

After about 16 hours, here are the features:

• Rectangle, Ovals, and Lines
    • Fill and Stroke Color
    • One style of dashed stroke and One style of marker-end arrow
    • Export SVG files compliant enough to open in browser or Inkscape
    • Open SVG files (100% working if made here. A little working if made elsewhere
    • Export png
    • Duplicating objects with Ctrl-C, Ctrl-V
    • Moving objects using drag and drop
    • Editing all supported properties e.g. rx and ry for ellipses using TextInput
    • Autosave current project EDIT: Actually working now
    • One line text objects

On my to-do list:

• Text Objects EDIT: 1 line text working
    • Undo/Redo
    • Select Multiple/Drag Select
    • Paths with multiple segments
    • Scale and rotate with touch
    • More png export options
    • zoom
    • More advanced color picker
    • Import of svg files that are structured a little differently