Someone explain the finished ghost shooter event sheet

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
This ghastly character will bring the spooky vibes right into your game with AAA Game Character Ghost.
  • How does the computer know the monsterspeed variable is the speed of the monsters? why does the description say it increases the speed monsters are spawning at but it actually just increases the monsters movement ?

In the ""If a monster is within 200 pixels of the player, make it start rotating towards them.", why is the angle set to rotate to1 degree to the player ?

why does the tutorial make no attempt at explaining this things and expect complete beginners to just understand it ?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Hello,

Looking at the events that monsterSpeed variable is used four places.

1. Where the variable is made as a global variable.

2. Where it’s increased every time an enemy is killed.

3. Under the every 3 seconds, it’s used to set the speed of newly created enemy.

4. And when you hit space to reset the game. It’s set back to an initial small value. Most things get reset automatically when restarting or changing layouts, but when something is global it doesn’t reset automatically. This is useful for keeping scores between layouts or stuff like that. So anyways, in this case they wanted to reset it and not keep its value so it was done manually.

I agree with you about the comment. It’s increasing the speed of the new enemies, not the rate they spawn.

There seems to be lots of YouTube channels with video tutorials that may be useful to you. Especially if they explain what they are trying to do and explain each part.

Anyways, here are my thoughts on how I’d come up with some of the enemy events.

So first we have some enemies. We want them to move forward so we give them the bullet behavior and see them happily trudging forward.