How do I show the UTC timestamp with leading zeros using the date/time object? Example : HH:MM:SS

1 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
An educational game for Times Table. An easy to use template for developers to build larger games
  • I'm making a timer for my Girlfriend because she has an online job with repeated timed tasks. There are plenty of countdown timers, but I am interested in Construct 3, so I figured it would be a good beginner's task to create the timer.

I've successfully created a simple timer that counts down in seconds; however, I would like to start learning how to use the date object correctly in this updated timer project. Unfortunately, I'm an advanced graphic artist and novice visual coder, so it's hard to wrap my brain around a few concepts.

The "Novice timer project" has presented me with a few problems that I'd appreciate help solving if possible.

1. How do I display a UTC timestamp with leading zeros In a 12-hour format?

-(00:00:00) the example shows numbers like this: "3:3:4"

2. How do I then display: "UTC:" 00:00:00 with the addition of an AM or PM meridiem?(AM/PM)

so, in conclusion, the outcome would hopefully look like this:

Tuesday, June 7, 2022 UTC: 5:13 PM - MT: 11:13 AM

(*or something similar*)

both (UTC) and Mountain Time (MT) in 12-hour format (MT) Please and thank you.

Any direction you might be able to point me in would be greatly appreciated.

I have included both a screenshot and the project file sort of explaining things.

Construct File : https://www.dropbox.com/s/6dlvjptu7i5kylf/Timer_Example.c3p?dl=0

Tagged:

• Here is the text that I used in the event (for the Date_Time_Text object)

Date.ToLocaleDateString(Date.Now) &" "&"(UTC : "&Date.GetUTCHours(Date.Now)&":"&Date.GetUTCMinutes(Date.Now)&":"&Date.GetUTCSeconds(Date.Now)&")"&" (GMT : "&Date.ToLocaleTimeString(Date.Now)&")"

• You're going to want to use the zeropad system expression to add leading zeroes.

zeropad(number, digits)