How to control YouTube in iframe?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
  • Hello!

I did a bit of searching and experimenting but was unable to figure this out! I've never used the iframe plugin before and my javascript knowledge is low.

With an iframe that has a YouTube video within, how would be best to communicate with this? Would it be preferable to use "browser > execute javascript", or use the built-in javascript feature in C3?

I wanted to be able to pause, play, seekto, etc.

Many thanks for reading!

• You don't need to do all of that. Just use the embed url of the video.

On the youtube video page, click on the Share button. In the Embed option, look for the direct url of the src and use that.

Or did you want separate sprites to use for the pause/play buttons? In that case, you'll have to use their API...

css-tricks.com/play-button-youtube-and-vimeo-api

• You don't need to do all of that. Just use the embed url of the video.

On the youtube video page, click on the Share button. In the Embed option, look for the direct url of the src and use that.

Or did you want separate sprites to use for the pause/play buttons? In that case, you'll have to use their API...

https://css-tricks.com/play-button-youtube-and-vimeo-api/

Hello, many thanks for replying!

I would like to use their API and send commands to the Youtube player, so I could do something similar to your example of using separate sprites to act as play/pause (and seeking which is most important for me!), but I have no idea how to apply their API this within the Event Sheet View.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads