How do I make audio files play in an order set by the player?

0 favourites
  • 1 posts
From the Asset Store
A set of board games to make your day joyful. Play, Enjoy, Relax
  • Hi!

I am new to this Construct, and enjoying it very much so far!

I want to create a game where the player is moving around in a world (SuperMario-like?) collecting items. I think I will need to implement an inventory list somehow.

Maybe I could put a lot of "play intro", "play verse", and "play song" items/events everywhere in the world, and then these are triggered whenever the player collides with these items.

The items that I want to have collected are audio files. These audio files are snippets of a song, and I already have the stems (files exported per instrument) for the song. The snippets can be the drum track, the piano track or the guitar track and so on. I will make this sync by starting all the tracks from a player collision event. All track will start muted, but depending on which collision event triggers the playback, this will determine which one of the tracks are allowed to be unmuted (or fade in/out).

Say the player collects the SecondVerse_item. Then this audio track would be unmuted in Construct, but there wouldn't be audible sound from this track when the song were playing the intro, or the chorus. The only time this track actually would play back any sound, would be if the song was within the timeframe on the second verse. Simply because the audio file only contains audio within those seconds that the second verse lasts.

I think I can wrap my head around how to do all this without too much problem.

Now, what I'd also like is for the player to be able to rearrrange the order things are played back. Example: How could I make the player able to move the second verse into the position of the first verse? Or maybe even into the position of the intro?