Constrcut: Still great, but reconsider your free license

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Fully commented source code/event sheet & sprites to create a space shooter game
  • Since 2015, I have now been using Construct (Construct 2 and Construct 3) professionally for game development and in education.

I am a lecturer at a university and give game design workshops for children from about 14 years. I use Construct especially because of the low entry barrier. And it works great!

There's just one thing:

Actually, at the latest after it is clear that it is a paid engine, nobody wants to work with it anymore.

That means the students do a project under my guidance and within the course with Construct and then switch directly to another engine like Unity, Unreal, Godot, Phaser or PlayCanvas. Unity and Unreal are of course the top dogs and who wouldn't want to make fantastic looking AAA games with one of the most powerful engines, which favors the popularity of these engines. But all these engines have something in common. They are largely free for non-commercial (non-professional use).

And there is the problem with Construct. It's not free, not really.

The restrictions of the free version are so limiting that even for beginner courses I reach the limits.

That's why no teacher I've taken a course with was willing to make Construct a permanent course at the school. The effort to buy education accounts for 2 months and to cancel them afterwards (and maybe to buy them again for a project in between) is too big and to buy them for the whole year for several classes is far too expensive.

I use my licenses for different students, so I have a good utilization of my licenses. That's why I'm in a much better position and don't have to worry much about it.

Nevertheless, I think that the current price model of Construct is not conducive to the distribution and use especially in teaching. Although Construct has strengths right there that other engines don't have (#Bahaviors).