Slopes and vehicle platforming movement

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Isometric Vehicle Pack 01. 4 Isometric Vehicles in 2 different colors.
  • Hi Everyone!

I am quite new to Construct 2 and was hoping someone could help me out.

What I am trying to achieve is a platforming movement for a vehicle. Basically, I'm trying to get the behaviour to be much like Blaster Master: Overdrive (I had attached a link, but forum rules do not allow me yet. Sorry ).

At first I had a single sprite with a platform movement, but soon realized that without it changing angles dynamically while going up slopes it was not going to be adequate.

So then I tried creating separate sprites for each of the axles and giving them both the exact same movement, with the hopes that I could retrieve the angle between the sprites to apply my vehicle graphic as the axles went up a slope, but I had problems getting the axles to stay the same distance apart and setting up something to measure the angle every tick.

I know that I can use Physics objects to set up a distance joint and measure the angle of that, but I was hoping to not start down that path as it's not a physics based game, and I don't really want to have to give everything a physics property just so my vehicle can interact with it.

Does anyone one have any suggestions?

• There are many examples in the forums about slope angles and the platform behavior. You should do a thorough search, I am sure that you'll learn a lot of things from those examples.

Here is a rapid prototype of a vehicle that behaves somewhat the way Blaster Master: Overdrive does (or at least like a video I saw on Youtube).

html example: http://www.eli0s.com/Tests/VehicleSuspension/

Use Arrow keys to move and Spacebar to fire.