Saving games with custom names

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Match the similar cards with each other and free all animals!
  • Hi

I am brand new to Construct, but love it a lot! Is there a way to make and name savegame slots avoiding arrays? I am making an app for autistic kids where user (parent) creates and saves different picture boards.

• You can

That highly depends on your app.

What do you mean by "Picture boards"?

Are they just Sprites with different content?

If it's as simple as that, you can create a dictionary and save the Dicitonary as JSON in a LocalStorage key.

The advantage of LocalStorage is that you can have multiple Save slots, all renamed individually.

But to really help you, I will need more information from you.

• Are they just Sprites with different content?.

They are exactly sprites with different content! One board contains 2 pictures (sprites) "first and then". "First" - is that the child has to do first, for example - clean his room (and there will be a timer for it). "Then" is what he gets for it, for example - "a candy" or he can "play games".

Parents create boards, pick pictures from their camera, name each picture and set timer for the first one. Then I need need to figure out the easiest way for saving each board either with custom name or the name could be "<first picture name> + <second picture name>"

Thank you for the tip, I am going to learn about Dictionary and JSON now

• Thanks for explaining your project!

Sooooo, the way I would do it, is this:

Since Construct 2 comes with no built-in way to export the content of a Sprite, I'd recommend using this plugin.

It comes with has two important things:

• An .imageUrl expression that returns the image
    • The action Load image that works similar to the Load from image URL in a Sprite, thus, accepting what has been returned by the .imageUrl expression

Now, how do you use this for your project?

The first steps stay the same.