Multiplayer advice

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
The official Scirra Multiplayer Signalling Server for helping peers find and connect to each other
  • So.. A while back I attempted to make a simple 1v1 multiplayer fighter game. I used the peer to peer method and the scirra signalling server.

It worked as intended and I think I understood the basic concept of sending the game state to the peer from the host. The main problem I encountered when testing was the lag involved, the game would often desync and cause some pretty wacky stuff to happen.

I'm now looking into having a second go at it and I have a couple questions, if someone could enlighten me that would be great.

Firstly, is peer to peer a good method? And what alternatives are there?

Would it be wise to do this sort of thing myself? I have very little experience and I'm wondering wether hiring someone would be better. However, I still need to know what needs to be done.

Basically, what is the best approach?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

• It depends on what you're willing to achieve.

For a turn-based online game, having a high latency wouldn't be an issue at all.

For fast paced action it's important to keep synced information as slim as possible.

In the end, peer to peer can be a good choice, depending on design of your game.

I've done several local-tests, and never had any real lag issues.

It's important that you don't make any mistakes with trying to sync information which you've not properly set.

Doing so can cause major lag problems. It will look as if the "internet connection" is terrible.