[question] How can i scale texture without offsset?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
High quality sound effect pack, in the following categories: Dark, Mystical, Peaceful
  • I've been trying to figure it out and nothing comes to my mind...

I'm stuck on:

vec2 tex = vTex * (1.0-size); - size is a percentage float

vec4 front = texture2D(samplerFront, tex);

etc...

and so far this works great however, only when "<extend-box-horizontal>" and "<extend-box-vertical>" are both set to 0. Setting it to something greater then 0 introduces this strange offset I can't compensate or get rid of.

I'm not a shader programmer and it's quite hard to learn that kind of stuff :/

• Describe the offset. If you set extend-box-horizontal to say 10 is it offset right 10 pixels? Maybe the vTex positions have an origin at the top left? So The points clockwise are (0,0), (1,0),(1,1),(0,1) perhaps?

At any rate maybe you could offset it back using the built in pixelWidth var? So with a extend-box-horizontal of 10 and a extend-box-vertical of 5 maybe this would work?

uniform mediump float pixelWidth;
    uniform mediump float pixelHeight;

vec2 tex = vTex * (1.0-size);
    tex.x -= pixelWidth*10;
    tex.y -= pixelHeight*5; [/code:39h6zqw8]
  • R0J0hound Not sure how to describe it, but I can show it.

Openup a capx file, and change "Size offset" for the bottom sprite on the layout.

What I'm trying to do is more less drop shadow effects, and Size offset should scale the effect while preserving sprites original position. It scales it correctly but also adds an offset to the effect and moving it around moves effect on layout coordinate (0,1)? not sure if this term is correct.

• It appears that when extend-box-horizontal or extend-box-vertical are both 0 the vTex coordinates are on the sprite, where the origin is the bottom-left corner of the sprite. But when either is non-zero then the coordinates are on the screen, where the origin is the bottom-left corner of the screen.