How do I create Galaxy for space game using arrays??

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
With this template you will learn how to use the GooglePlay Games native plugin
  • I need to figure out how to create a Galaxy for my space game. Let's just assume there's going to be 1000 solar systems and the Galaxy. And then using some sort of randomizer I need to randomize the possibility that each solar system may or may not have a son planets moons for planets so on. I will also need to randomly assign names to each solar system and planet and so on. I'm assuming I will be using some sort of array or possibly multiple arrays to create this. A little guidance would be appreciated as I'm new to construct. I managed to figure this out in qbasic though LOL

Let me know if you have any other questions for me regarding what I'm trying to accomplish thanks ahead of time.

• I came across this article on how the galaxy is generated in the original "Elite" game a few weeks ago, I haven't read through the details of the algorithm but it doesn't look too hard. Might be useful

blog.rabidgremlin.com/2015/01/14/procedural-content-generation-creating-a-universe

• I'll take a stab at it this weekend. Thanks for your input. If anyone else can come up with an easier way I would accept that answer as well LOL.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Hah yeah it's perhaps not the easiest introduction to procedural generation! Did you make any progress?

I've been thinking about how I would go about doing this, which is perhaps not the simplest way but I guess you could remove/modify some steps to make them simpler.