Good art programs?

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
Ninja char for your game! Make your own Shinobi game with this art.
  • I'm not very skilled at drawing on computers, and I can't just use the in-program drawing tool in C2, so I'm wondering if anybody knows good drawing tools.

I already have Gimp and Paint.NET and Paint, but I'm not really good at those.

Does Spriter come with a drawing tool also?

I really need this for a game I'm making.

Thanks!

• Please help

• I too lack in the artistic front (developer art!).

What I tend to use for graphics is Anime Studio Debut (Vector art and skeletal animations) and/or Inkscape (Vector art). Inkscape is free to use, but Anime Studio is better imo.

• I have Anime Studio pro ten but it was installed on my now broken computer and I lost the key

I have inkscape, but I cant really imagine it doing the type of graphics I need for the game I'm currently making.

• What about checking out the official websites for the tools you mention to check out informations about them ?

Spriter is just an animation tool in which you import graphics you made in another (dedicated to drawing) software.

Inkscape, when well used, allows you to make great graphics.

But as everything, it is just a tool and the most limiting aspect of any tool is its user and its capacities.

Photoshop, GIMP, Paint.Net, Graphic Gale, Manga studio, and even the Paint from windows OS all those are good art programs you need to learn to use and practice with.

And if you're really not good at making graphics, in the end, consider checking out some libraries like http://opengameart.org/

• Thanks !

• One other alternative is 3D modelling, which you can render as 2D. I cannot draw at all, but I have found I can model relatively simple things, and the 3D software takes care of the shadows and such like.

What sort of game are you currently making ?