Boardgame Tutorial

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
Carousel Animation, make carousel of you image gallery or anything
  • Hi All,

I hope this is in the correct topic, I'm a noob to the forums and Construct 2. I've completed a few tutorials already and now looking at tic tac toe and arrays.

Are there any other boardgame tutorials that involve turn-by-turn piece movement?

I'm looking at creating a game that uses pieces to move on a grid fashioned board and the moves are determined by dice etc.

thanks

Chris

• Hi Chris,

I'm also rather new around these parts (haven't had a go at this game making malarkey since Amos on the Amiga 500!) and have been working on a board game for a few months. Mine is also dice based, and involves players trying to get various Rpg style characters to the dungeon exit whilst avoiding traps etc.

I haven't located that much in the way of board game specific tutorials, though there's a few which might point you in the right direction. I seem to recall there's a Pacman tutorial that involves moving the character in increments, and using collision detections (useful if you need your pieces to change direction at a certain point on the board). Also there's some well thought out Plugins by Rex Rainbow that allow you to use Grid Based movement, which might be appropriate to your needs (I decided not to use them in the end, as games that use 3rd party plugins can't be uploaded to the Scirra arcade and may suffer unforeseen side effects).