What is a decent price to ask for a music track?

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Simple and easily editable template for a dynamic camera that zooms in and out based on how far apart the players are.
  • Hi

As a developer i also compose my own music.

I have been writing music for more then 15 years.

Never have i created a music piece for someone else's game.

So who better to ask then u guys what a decent price would be to tag on a custom made music track.

In other words, when u don't think (it should be free), then what price should it be?

This question is not about selling to the masses.

Rather one project at a time, keeping the art where it should be.

And the price for it decent in general.

• It depends! Depending on the situation, look up music licensing.

Are they getting full exclusive ownership of the track and the ability to use it however they please? For example, could they use it for a game and then use it for something totally unrelated a year later. If so, charge more. I've charged well over $100 for a lengthy track in this case (~2 minute track).

Or are you retaining ownership of the track and licensing it to them? Basically you write up a contract and say, "You can use this song for these projects/uses over the next X years". You can charge less (but don't have to) in this case since you still own the song and could potentially license it again once the contract is up.

Bear in mind, I've written stuff for friends and just charged them a flat rate. A buddy just asked for a death and game over jingle and I'm doing $50 flat since it'll take me an hour or two tops.