Using a game to learn a large body of knowledge.

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Greetings,

I am new here, and to programming in general (started HTML ~2 weeks ago, JS ~1 week ago), but am a pharmacist by trade. While trying to keep up with the thousands of medications out there, I find myself losing ground on the large amount of information to know. This type of information is factual in nature (drugs have a mechanism of action, side effects, unique things). I want to build a game that helps commit this stuff to memory and help use the information in a practical way. I was actually inspired by playing Pokemon one day, how much I could remember various stats and types with the hundreds of Pokemon, but struggle more with drug information. I realize the types of information somewhat different, but I would like develop a process to make it similar. I have discussed this with a friend of mine and we have identified some features that might help a person remember information such as repetition, aural and visual cues, spatial arrangement, and rewards.

Recently coming across some game development tools like this has given me a lot more hope to get a small prototype quicker (like within the next year). I think I am going to start with Construct 2 as it seems to have great documentation, fully featured as a free product, and a helpful community.

Questions I would like to pose to you fine people:

1. What kind of game might accomplish my goal of commiting to memory many facts?

2. Would a game similar to Pokemon be buildable with Construct 2? What are the strengths and limitations of this program building such game? Any tutorials?

3. How well would this sort of game translate to touch screen platforms?