Question about C2 output in Android Studio using Crosswalk

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
With this template you will learn how to use the GooglePlay Games native plugin
  • Hi, I'm new to Construct 2 (About 1 week) and am trying to get a very simple project which has touch events, physics and sounds working on Android.

After a few days of research, hours of trying and testing and lots of headaches on what is the best way to get Construct 2 outputs on Android, I arrived at the point that Crosswalk has the best compatibility and performance advantage over other methods, but of course it uses more resources both RAM and storage space on APK file and when installed.

Any methods using native Android browser seem to have compatibility and performance issues on Android versions lower than 5, like very low FPS or no sound problems and their only advantage is having a small file size.

I used Intel XDK to create my Android Crosswalk outputs. Sadly there are things which are making me unhappy while using Intel XDK like:

• Lack of the ability to use native Android APIs ...
    • Lack of full control over all aspects of the final output APK file.
    • Separated output architecture files (Separated x86, ARM)
    • It's cloud based and is in need of an internet connection for most of the actions, specially the build part (compiling)

So I decided to use this method instead: "Embedding Crosswalk in Android Studio"

Note: Since I can't post URLs, if you Google it, the first result is what I'm talking about.

This method simply embeds Crosswalk inside Android Studio and I can do anything I normally do inside Android Studio and still have my HTML5 project loaded in Crosswalk view object.