[Behavior] Rubber Band

0 favourites
  • [attachment=2:1glg6y09][/attachment:1glg6y09]Good localTimeOfDay everyone,

I just started playing aroung with writing C2 Extentions a bit.

Started with a go for a 'rubber band' behavior. ie. one object tied to another with a bit of dynamic.

I couldn't find any other Plugin doing it, but might have missed something.

Take a look, if you like. .

There is also the code. .

And in the rare incident of one of the more experienced C2 Veterans taking a look at the code, pointing out obvious mistakes, highlighting C2 best practices or just making useful suggestions is highly welcome.

EDIT:

Updated the plugin (v0.7) to allow the usage of multiple bands on one object.

(Docu says, this may break any existing usages of the plugin, if any should exist yet.)

Relevant demo:

• [RESERVED}
  • Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Very neat!

[attachment=0:84s5jb4i][/attachment:84s5jb4i]

It also appears quite efficient, I was just having trouble figuring out how to "chain" several objects (have smaller in-between objects that move at, say, 50% of the big main object) - attempt to use sequential Relaxed length values didn't work.

• Haha, I didn't even get that far with my testing yet.

What exactly are you thinking of? / trying to model?

I am still thinking about supporting multiple 'targets' to be tied to.

Having a sequence of items and each tied to _both_ its neighbors could provide what you are looking for, if i read you correctly?

(edit: could also look totally weired, if i think about it... )

• Basically imagine a chain where the spring is in my example - so if we could have a point in the middle of the spring, sort of moving about half as actively as the big ball it could look like a chain or rope.