Python

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
0 favourites
  • I'm pretty new to python(completely) and I was wondering how to make an object at the mouse position and if this small script would work. I apologize in advance for all the errors in it. Like I said, I have no experience with python.

if System.global('action') == "Build":
    	System.global('menunum') = 2
    if System.global('action') == "Gather":
    	System.global('menunum') = 3
    if System.global('action') == "House":
    // how do you create and object at mouse position?
    [/code:k2idk6u4]
  • Here's how with correct syntax:

if System.globalvar('action') == "Build":
       System.SetGlobalVar('menunum') = 2
    if System.globalvar('action') == "Gather":
       System.SetGlobalVar('menunum') = 3
    if System.globalvar('action') == "House":
       System.Create("Sprite", 0, System.mousex, System.mousey)[/code:1howd1bs]
  • Thanks! There's not a lot of posts about python in the forums which can make it difficult to learn it. Using this should make my list of 40 or more things take less time to make.

• Just in-case you didn't know, "#" is how you make a comment in Python, not "//". I'm not too familiar with Python, but you might be able to save sometime by using a dictionary to store your global variables.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • For some reason this way of setting global variables wasn't working.

System.SetGlobalVar('menunum') = 2[/code:aylto7xh]
    Instead I had to use this.
    [code:aylto7xh]System.SetGlobalVar('menunum',2)[/code:aylto7xh]
    [quote:aylto7xh]#" is how you make a comment in Python, not "//"

ya, I know, I get the comment sign mixed up with other programming languages. I believe "//" is java, right?
    [quote:aylto7xh]you might be able to save sometime by using a dictionary