Keyboard and values

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
Total customisation of the input! You can combine inputs from all peripherals. Make your game accessible for everyone!
  • Hi everyone !

I'm new to Construct, but I've been using MMF2 before (like many members here I guess). I'll go on a more detailed presentation if you want it, but now I've got a question.

MMF2 has a quite useful object, "Control X", which allows to retrieve the last pressed key and to check whether a particular key is pressed, using values. For instance, the Space key is associated to 32, and you can add conditions to test if the key 32 is down.

Is there a way to do this using Construct?

The Mouse & Keyboard doesn't let me write an expression when I want to test whether a key is down, it just includes a menu. And I didn't find any way to retrieve the last pressed key as a value.

Thanks in advance and sorry if the question was already posted somewhere.

• you can check if a key is down and don't need to remember a number, you can just choose which key

but I'm not sure the operation you're talking about is built into mouse/keyboard, however is easy to implement, if you already have events for the keypresses. do you just want to know if they press anything on the keyboard?, or the last key they used that is a set key in your game?

like if they pressed space, which is the fire button down last.

if it's just controls, then in the events that catch the button presses, you just set a global or private variable to whatever control you're in the event for

it's possible to test for any key, but it's more complicated than just making events for specific keys

• you can check if a key is down and don't need to remember a number, you can just choose which key

He means he wants to use an expression to check which key is pressed, not just pick a herd-coded key from a drop-down list.