Event Sheet Issues

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
- This pack is suitable for shooting games, running games, platform games, and side-scrolling...
  • I'm new to Scirra and Construct, I came at the direction of a friend who saw my mild frustration with GameMaker. I'm a pixel artist first and foremost, and while I am taking Computer Science classes, I have yet to be anything but passingly familiar with programming languages, and yet it's really difficult to find programmers willing to work through a project to completion.

I apologize if I missed something somewhere, or if this is obvious. I read through various tutorials and parts of the FAQ, and found nothing on this.

Whenever I right-click in the Event Sheet and select Insert Event, it takes me to the screen for creating a Condition and not an Action.

• Welcome,

Actions can be added after the event is created by left clicking + New Action at the right of the event.

• The problem is the Event itself; the System should create a new sprite when x occurs, but I can't set that, because I get a list of Conditions instead of Actions. The Creation events are in the Actions list.

What irks me is that previously I've made System Actions simply by clicking Insert Event and having it take me straight to the Actions screen, where Creation is available as an option.

• "the System should create a new sprite when x occurs"

The condition is when "X" occurs, and "X" needs to be checked first, before you create the new sprite. So you need a condition first.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • X occurs -> action

It's not like a programming language where you can just say "new object;" without any conditionals.