optimized image in sprite object

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the "Construct Starter Kit Collection". It is the Student Workbook for its Workshop.
  • I made some research on the forums, and the way I understood it. Sprite is kind of uncompressed PNG that "grabs screenshot" of the image you are loading. So the original compression does not apply.

Is there some specific reason for this ? I imported 100kb jpg and It turned into 4mb in construct. This just seems a wasted of resources to me then again I'm new to construct and might be missing something.

it would be useful to have option to import optimized small sprites that stay same way in construct. if its possible.

100kb to 4mb thats like 40x bigger image?

• Compression algorithms like .jpg or .png only apply to the size of the file on disk. Once they're in memory, regardless of if they are .jpg, .png, .gif, whatever, they all take up the same amount of space.

It's a computer thing, not a Construct thing. You just can't get away with making enormous sprites or backgrounds without bumping up the system requirements, and that's that, period, end of story.

If you want to squeeze performance out of your sprites, then look into bone animation. If you want big backgrounds, then you will need to make a small set of tiles that you can snap instances of together to form larger images. That's just how it works.

Yes, it means more work, and more planning, but them's the breaks.

• It does kind of suck that you can't optimize a sprite a bit further by ignoring alpha. The biggest sprite in a game is usually the background sprite which also usually doesn't need an alpha channel. Even going further by having a 1-bit alpha option would help a lot especially for pixel art games.

But like deadeye said, it is the way it is and you just have to work around it.