Flying Enemy: Advice & Ideas

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Give Sound to the enemies that are part of your game! :)
  • Hey All,

While working on my game, I've created a "test room" with a simple walking (platform) enemy.

It's simple, easy and fun to test the Player vs Enemy as a basic part of the game-engine.

Now I'm wondering about a different kind of enemy, a flying one.

The basic idea for this enemy is to fly around, and when "see" the Player, attacking him from above.

So it's like an eagle or a bat in a way.

When the Flying Enemy will attack the Player, either if he's missing or Hit, it should get back to it's "default" flying height.

I want this creature to avoid interacting with the floor of the room, so it won't touch the floor or get too near to the floor.

I'm thinking about starting with a bullet + curve? but I'm not sure.

So I would love to hear your ideas about how should I approach it.

Please consider that I'm a newbie in C3 and in programing in general, so I hope you can explain in a visual or simple as possible way, it will be very helpful and appreciated.

Sorry about my bad English and thanks ahead! :)

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Can't figure out how to post a pic, I will try my best to keep this simple.

Set up a condition that tell the flyer to attack player, then us an action "set the angle of motion" (bullet behavior) towards position of "Player.X", "Player.Y"

You will then need a condition to disengage the player, at that point you could simply angle the flying object to something like 40degrees until it reaches a certain height, then set it to 0degrees.

• Thanks for the advice,

I'll try to start messing with it (I just found few bugs I need to fix before I add the enemy hehe).

Until Scirra will fix the shortcut icon to a correct one, to post an image on the new forums try this: