Where to begin?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
  • Hi all - I'm brand new to Construct. I have a tiny bit of experience using a Construct competitor (but only a little), and I think I want to make the move to Construct.

The question is, should I start with Construct 2 since it seems to have lots of tutorials and is really well documented? Or should I jump right in to Construct 3, since it seems to be nearing the end of its beta and is going to be the new thing?

Will Construct 2 tutorials generally still apply to Construct 3, or is everything completely different now? If I want a basic, idiots-guide kind of overview for Construct 3, where should I start?

Thanks in advance for your help!

• I've been reading through the Construct 2 manual while only using Construct 3 (on a Chromebook) and haven't found anything too different.

The C2 Monster Shooter tutorial is still a good place to start. Towards the end they add a third layer which is impossible in the demo of either C2 or C3, but you can either skip that or work around it as an "exercise for the reader."

• Hello. I am actually working on a Construct 3 video tutorial series that is geared at people who are totally new to Construct. It might be of some help to you. I try to update with a new video at least once a week.

I suggest you start with Tutorial #1 and work your way up, as the videos build on each other. I am hoping to have the next tutorial up in the next day or two.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCe3lsh ... J7hwUuJPaQ

-CFry

• Thanks for the advice. I decided to dive in to C3. I'm following a YouTube tutorial for C2 and it's very easy to follow. I was worried the UI might have changed a lot, but I'm pleased to see it's basically the same as it was before.

• Difficult to say but yeah I'd probably start with Construct 3 as well.

it's very much C2 in the browser at this stage. Nothing wrong with C2's interface etc. And the C3 one is good as well.