[Dev Blog] Prototype for platform shooter

0 favourites
  • 15 posts
From the Asset Store
The complete source file for my Youtube platformer game tutorial series.
  • Just picked up Construct last week and have been loving it so far. I come from the creative side of things (graphic designer by trade) so I'm loving the way it all works.

Here's a crummy gif of what I've got so far. Really basic but just trying to get the mechanisms I'd like to use. No bullet events set up yet; that's on dock for this week.

Also working my way through JayJay's book (I'm using CC) and it is incredibly helpful. Dude also peeped my .cap file and fixed a collision error I was having and added some solid notation. Stoked that the community can be that supportive.

• My daughter and I are just learning C2 - your start looks really great and she would be pretty jealous. Keep up the good work!

Kay.

• It looks awesome :0

• RayKi and blurtsmum Thanks!

• With the help of stemkoski 's tutorial on AI and state machines, I was able to set up some simple states for my test enemies this weekend. Nothing worth showing, but they worked and my event sheet was organized which is mostly what I was after. Also learned about including event sheets within event sheets which is really handy. I'm a huge fan of organization and immediately saw the benefits of this.

Finishing up the Construct book this weekend and hoping to really start putting time towards the prototype next week.

• The zero to game time in Construct 2 is so great.

I like the style of the game so far, although the field of view seems a bit small.

• icugigasoft Thanks for the constructive criticism! It is a bit cramped. I'll be sure to expand the FOV as I move forward.

• looks addicting bclikesyou

• Thanks mannygill99!

[Update]

Finished up most of Jayjay 's book and definitely feel like I have a solid enough grasp to move forward with a prototype.

However!