A top-down action Dungeon Crawler

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Set of tiles to create a map for top-down games with island theme
  • Hello everyone! How are you doing?

First post here, and straight to the point.

A week ago, I started playing around with Construct 2, and I'm seriously enjoying my experience with it. I've been working on a project I'd like to bring to life, and I want to share my progress.

It's a very early version and I'm trying to implement (way) too many things at the same time, I hope you can see a little of this, a little of that, not all the base mechanics are implemented yet and nearly everything is a placeholder, so it's not really a game, just a taste of what it is going to be.

Notes:

• The dungeon is generated randomly from pre-made square tiles (only 4 so far)
    • The character doesn't suffer damage (and zombies do not attack, very basic AI)
    • It's spawning 8 zombies every 2 seconds, you'll see many bugs, stay for too long and your PC will become slow
    • There's no objective, quit when you get tired
    • Whirlwind (RMB) kills everything in one hit

https : //dl.dropboxusercontent. com/u/6512545/Dungeon%20Crawl%203/index.html (Can I post this?)

The dungeon tiles are one single image, I created a specific collision polygon for each tile, it seems a poor way to do things but that's the solution I found, I want to use pre-rendered rooms (I create them in blender), but this also means I had to block the entrances and found a nasty solution for that (a rectangle in those doors that disables collision. What do you think of this? Too ugly?

About large size images, in the tiles case, 864x864, is it too much? I'm still using the free version but my aim is to export for desktop, is this a problem?