Transparent Background with nw.js

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
94 Inside buildings views - Isometric view - PNG transparent - 2048x2048
  • Hi, I'm trying to export canvas snapshots with a transparent background, but nw.js by default sets the background to black. My understanding is that the lack of an alpha channel on the background is a performance optimisation, how can I reverse this?

• Something tells me Ashley may be able to shed some light on this, I read an explanation for this in an old thread but I'm not technical enough to understand it...

• It seems this thread is my best hope at the moment:

I quote Ashley "I added a flag in the runtime you can use to force alpha mode enabled: set runtime.forceCanvasAlpha to true." I'm not sure if this flag is still present in the latest c2 builds, furthermore I have no idea how to create a plugin, even a simple one with just this line! Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is pretty much making my app useless.

• Paster, or Canvas plugs will do what you are wanting.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Paster, or Canvas plugs will do what you are wanting.

I don't think they will help. The problem isn't importing images with transparency, it's exporting them.

• Still searching for a solution to this, been trying to build a plugin with no prior knowledge but I'm not even sure the runtime.forceCanvasAlpha flag exists any more as it doesn't appear here https://www.scirra.com/manual/26/runtime

Could really use your help Ashley , my whole app is pretty much made redundant without alpha exported images.

• did you try with Browser object(Execute Javascript)?

Transparency Window

"var gui = window.require('nw.gui');
    gui.Window.get().setTransparent();"[/code:hu9hlanh]
  • did you try with Browser object(Execute Javascript)?

Transparency Window

"var gui = window.require('nw.gui');