run layout question/run game

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Full game Construct 2 and Construct 3 to post on Google Play
  • I'm completely new to this. Just downloaded the free version and ran over the start of the beginners guide. I'm stuck at page 3. I have not made it very far. I've done everything as the tutorial has instructed so far, even restarted and did over again. My problem is after clicking on "Run" in the top left corner, and after the trying "Run Layout" in the "home" tab it just brings me to a web screen showing my character. I can not move at all. I even tried the "debug layout", it shows the same thing but does show keyboard entries registering, but still no movement.

Now, Is this an old guide for an older version of construct? I know this would happen to me alot when trying to use Valve's Hammer Editor. I would find many old guides for older versions of the tool and somethings have changed with out updated tutorials or am I just an idiot missing something?

For the record I did look around for an answer, I couldn't find it.

And like I said, I followed the guide to the t.

Any suggestions, or is this because I'm using the free version?

EDIT: Sorry, should have explained a bit more. I'm at the point in the beginners guide where after you give your character behaviors (and add keyboard & mouse) the guide suggest you run it. I'm supposed to be able to move around and what not at this point so the guide tells me.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Shouldn't have anything to do with the free version or the guide being old..

Has the character got a movement behaviour?

In the properties of the movement behaviour is default control set to yes?