Pokemon Style Fight

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Single Track kit that includes wav files for the Beat, Lead, Sub and the MP3 loop.
  • Hello my name is Baron first of all I love this program it is awesome it is what I have been looking for, for quite a bit of time. I am an artist that needed and easy way to bring my idea to fruition with little programing.

Also if anyone needs some art done, I have reasonable prices and I am a freelance artist, check out my portfolio - Click Here

Okay enough of that, I am trying to put together a Pokemon style fight scene and I am trying to start up the base part of it where I have a monster on one side and the Hero's pet on the other.

1st problem is that I want to pull in a random monster from a list of monsters -

2nd problem I want the monster to choose from a list of powers and then cast them on the Hero's pet.

I understand that I can call from a .txt file with a list of monsters and have it call from that list. I having trouble understanding how to call that list then telling the program the list. I understand I have to have a .txt file that lists the monsters and then a .txt file with the list of the monster along with it's powers that the names line up exactly. I just don't know how to call it.

Also I would like a little advice if this is a good way or would there be a better way. I am sorry if I have not explained it right, as said before I am an artist first and a programmer LAST haha.

The construct File - Click Save As

• Look, you posted a link it's wrong because .caproj is NOT proper compressed file.

Try to change it for .capx

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Im a little confused about the mention of a text file for doing what your trying to do.

What you can do instead is use the random action within C2.

It works like this;

-On condition met

>Set local number which = 0

Set floor(random(3))