moving object

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the "Construct Starter Kit Collection". It is the Student Workbook for its Workshop.
  • Hi all, this might sound like a very noob question but whats the easiest way to move a sprite to a certain location {X axis} FLUIDLY. I have tried different ways also with bullet behavior but the sprite is still continuing to move - it ignores the set to X action. Im not really good with lerp also :/

• I'm not sure what you mean by set to x action.

if you are trying to stop the bullet at a certain x position it is very possible the bullet is never at that precise x position.

The bullet moves a certain amount of pixels every tick, so it could be it's x position is never exactly the position you specify.

• If you open the move to mouse example which ships with C2, you'll see it uses a distance is less than 20 pixels condition to stop the movement.

• If you'd like to know how to use lerp, Yann's explanation about lerp is probably the easiest to understand:

Lerp is a very simple function

Lerp stands for Linear intERPolation

This function need 3 numbers parameter

lerp(a,b,t)

a and b are whatever number you want

but t goes from 0 to 1 (well it can go under and over but... let's keep things simple)

lerp(a,b,0) returns a

learp(a,b,1) returns b

the values in between 0 and 1 returns a number X between a and b such as X-a = (b-a)*t

so t describe more or less where you are in between a and b

lerp(a,b,0.5) return the middle so a+(b-a)/2

lerp(0,10,0) = 0

lerp(0,10,1) = 10

lerp(0,10,0.5) = 5

the way newt use it with

sprite set X to lerp(self.X,destination,0.5*dt)

is a little trick

the .X you have in the lerp is the .X you change in the expression

and 0.5*dt is always more or less the same (depending on fps)