Managing multiple arrays. RPG Inventory help?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Howdy Scirra forums. I've used the search function and I've seen some examples. I'm requesting someone basically walk through what I need to do in C2. If C2 were a scripting language, I think I could handle this. But well, C2 isn't a scripting language. I'm still new to WYSIWYG game editors.

I'll try to explain what I need help with to the best of my abilities.

Theory

I'd have three arrays for what I need to accomplish.

1] The first array would be a 1 dimensional array for inventory "slots".

[0][1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10]...

Each address would have a value.

0 = empty, 1=Item.animation frame 1, 2=Item.animation frame 3=Item.animation frame 3,etc . . . .

2] The second array would also be 1 dimensional. For equipped items.

[0]Feet

[1]Body

[2]R_arm

[3]L_arm

[4]Head

[6]Weapon

[7]Trinket1

[8]Trinket2

Each address would have a value.

0 = empty, 1=Item.animation frame 1, 2=Item.animation frame 3=Item.animation frame 3,etc . . . .

3] The third array would connect the two arrays and contain all the info for items. It'd be multi dimensional.

[0] Animation frame to show

[0a] Item Name

[0b] STR to add

[0c] DEF to add

[0d] INT to add

[0e] LCK to add

[0f] CON to add

[0g] MP to add

[0h] Hp to add

The action would work like this:

o Player kills monster

o Computer does a random number roll.

o If the number roll is a success, the monster spawns a random item

o When the player collides("picks up") the item, the items corresponding number is added to the Slot array.

There'd be a menu that shows the inventory with each item number having a specific animation frame that would show in the inventory. Then you'd be able to drag from the slots into the equip. The slot address would become 0, and the Equip Inventory would gain the previous address.