Increase Global Number Every X Points

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Globals 2.0
$3.99 USD
Globals 2.0 stores and group variables. You can also load and save data (variables) from/to JSON files.
  • I'm new to Construct 2 and I'm loving the software so far. Excellent work, Scirra!

My only question so far has been in regards to variables and setting values. I have a Global Number called "Points". Points will reset to 0 at the start of the layout, and will increase by 1 each time a specific action occurs. I would like to be able to increase another Global Number (speed) every time "points" reaches a multiple of 10. The idea is to increase difficulty as the player reaches 10, 20, 30+ points. I can manually enter the events by using the "set value" event when "points" = a multiple of 10, but I feel this isn't the smartest way to create this functionality. Although it may not matter as the game will become nearly impossible after a certain amount of points for the really good players.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

• if (points % 10 = 0) add 1 to speed

translate to C2 code and should be right

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • if (points % 10 = 0) add 1 to speed

translate to C2 code and should be right

Thanks for the suggestion! I was able to get the syntax correct so that speed increases by X amount when points reaches every 10th multiple, but the speed just continues to speed up until everything is a blur. I'll have to dig into a bit more to see how to increase the speed once, and not continually after the condition is met with a multiple of 10. Right off the bat, it appears that it keeps adding X amount to speed when the player reaches 10.

I appreciate the response. I'll keep working on it until I get it right, and I'll post my resolution here if I find it before someone else is able to reply with the Construct 2 solution.