How to draw objects and apply physics to it

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Simple yet very life-like rag doll made with Physics!
  • Hi guys, Am complete beginner to construct 2. I want to develop a platform game where players will draw objetcs (basic shapes) and physics will be applied to it.

I found similar drawing and physics game: "http://armorgames.com/play/4673/test-pilot".

If anyone can tell where to get started and is it possible in construct 2 or not, it'll be great.

Thanks

• There is nothing in place to help with that. With the physics behavior the shapes need to be defined in the editor before the game is run. You could use the canvas or paster plugins to draw the object though.

One idea could be to build the shapes out of a bunch of simpler objects and join them together with joints, but that does have some issues. Namely objects joined together with joints behave a bit spongy.

A better solution is to work with the physics engine at a lower level using javascript, although you can't really do this along with the physics behavior. More on this in a moment.

The basic flow of your game would be to:

1. when you draw the shape a list of points is made.

2. Those points make up a polygon. This needs to be converted to a list of triangles or at least convex polygons. This is mainly for the physics engines which generally don't work with concave polygons.

3. find the center of mass by averaging the point locations.

4. create the physics object with that shape.

That may vary depending on what a given physics engine does for you.

Here's one possible example of using javascript to access a physics engine instead of using the behavior:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/314g422gfjlv2 ... .capx?dl=1

/5426011/examples34/jsPhysics.capx