How do I spawn just one bomb

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Bomb Box
$3 USD
Game inspired by the classic bomberman game, with a 3D footprint!
  • I've searched the forums and I couldn't find any help and I'm new to Construct.

I want to make a game where the player collects bombs and can plant them where ever to destroy things blocking paths. But I want it so I can only drop a bomb after the player collides with the icon on screen.

I've played with the events/ variables for hours and after the player collects one bomb it's like they now have unlimited. How can I make the player just drop one until the player gets another one?

Thank you!

p.s - I want the player to press the "D" key on the keyboard to drop the bomb

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I'd do something like:

Variable: bombs = 0

Player takes bomb, bombs + 1

Player uses bomb, bombs -1

if player bombs < 1, don't allow using bombs

• I got it so when the player walks over the bomb icon it adds 1 to the variable and I also have it set so when I press the "D" key it spawns the exploding bomb and subtracts 1 from the variable but when I still press the "D" Key it keeps spawning bombs and I can't figure out how to stop allowing the use of bombs

• You need to add another condition to the bomb planting where it checks the variable. If the variable is < 1 you do not allow them to plant the bomb. You can do this two ways:

1. On your plant the bomb event add a second condition that if variable is equal to 1 (Events only happen if all conditions are met)

2. On your plant the bomb event add a condition that variable is not equal to or greater than 0 (again, if the condition is not met, the event does not fire of it's actions)