How do I set a animation based on mouse's position?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Advanced inventory mechanics for your RPG game (Array-based). Take Items, split them, pick up them, read the description
  • Hey there, im new to the community! Just got this amazing software a couple days ago and im still learning the basics before i can in fact focus on my own game. =D

But, im stuck for a while already, and i've searched everywhere, tried many different ways, but without success... Im trying to make my character run a specific animation as it moves to where i pointed with mouse (its moving ok to the position, but as a static sprite). I was messing around trying to get the mouse' angle, position, but it never worked for all 8 movement animations (4 diretions plus 4 diagonals). Someone enlighten me, please.

Thanks in advance! o/

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • which method (behaviour) are you using for the movement?

• which method (behaviour) are you using for the movement?

Pathfinder.

• You can get the moving-angle of your sprite with the expression

Sprite.Pathfinding.MovingAngle

• You can get the moving-angle of your sprite with the expression

Sprite.Pathfinding.MovingAngle

Didnt work.. =/ Maybe i put them on the wrong place, but the system didnt recognize these expressions... Can you be more specific about how/where should i use this expression? sry, im a newbie yet..

• you probably want to know if the player's moving angle is between certain agles to switch animations, so this is how:

first set rotate off in the pathfinding properties.

(YourSpriteName) pathfinding is moving along path

System is between: (YourSpriteName).pathfinding.movingangle -between- 22.5 -And- 67.5

• set animation to down-right

System is between: (YourSpriteName).pathfinding.movingangle -between- 67.5 -And- 112.5

• set animation to down

etcetera..