How do I properly use sync and multiplayer ?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
The official Scirra Multiplayer Signalling Server for helping peers find and connect to each other
  • Greetings.

First off, I do know there is a tutorial on the subject, but it seems a little too much complicated for me. I haven't made much with Construct 2 for now, so I am a beginner and I have trouble messing around with the multiplayer object and especially with the sync action.

I understood how the action was meant to work. The host's version of the position of an object must be the original one, meaning the host must send the position of their game to all other peers. I also understood that peers were meant to send their inputs to the host so the host could make in their game what actions the peer intented to do - move, attack, etc. But there is the thing - I just don't get it how this is meant to work. Even after looking at the example project again and again and trying to figure out how it works. My aim is the following :

• In the game I created, there is a title screen which only goes to the actual layout if both the host and the unique peer (it is meant to have only two players for now) have checked a... check box indeed. For this part, it works. Basically, the way it works is that when the peer checks their check box, it sends a message with a specific tag to the host (the value is unused). If they uncheck it it sends another message, which when it will be received by the host will change back the value of a global variable to 0 (it changes to 1 when receiving the message that is evidence the peer checked their "Ready" check box).