How do I properly set bullet direction (for a portal gun!)

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
Hand-animated Sprite Base for isometric game/animation development
  • Hey all, I've been working on a simple idea for about 2 days. What if I could create a game that has a character with mechanics similar to portal? I.E. he has a portal gun and can open up portals at will. I've been working on it a lot. I found a post about making portals that really helped and with some modifications I managed to make 2 way portals and I can open new portals with my gun But I do have problems...

• I can't change the bullet direction, only the angle that the subsequent portal opens at
    • I can't reduce rate of fire, not sure what I'm doing wrong
    • Is there anything else you can see that is blatantly bad? I'm trying to make it in a way that leaves things open to have many, many playable characters.

I'm new to Construct 2 (that's probably obvious) but I am an experienced software engineer, so I may be approaching these issues from the wrong frame of mind. Any advice you have would be extremely appreciated.

EDIT:

Also, it seems I suck at using this forums tags!

• The quickest way I found to fix your bullet direction was to put a sub-event under the z key event, that says:

if portalmanimage is mirrored, set bullet angle of motion to 180.

and to fix the rate of fire to a single shot per button press., change "z is down" to "z is pressed"

the X key isn't doing anything, There's so much going on there, I'm not going to try and decipher it.

But I'm guessing you don't need all of those sub events under there. I might be wrong, though... Just not really sure what's going on there.

Anyways, hope that helps ya some..

• here is a fix for your angle problem:

[attachment=0:29rbltc8][/attachment:29rbltc8]