How do I program directional attacks in a platformer?

1 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Easy jumping mechanic with 8 direction behaviour. 9 EVENTS
  • Hey all, my name is Brando and I'm attempting a Metroidvania type game. So far, my character can run, jump, duck, and attack while standing... but I can't seem to figure out how to make him attack while ducking. I've got the animation, but I guess maybe I just don't know how to trigger it? If I can figure this out, maybe I can figure out how to do a jumping attack and then a downward diagonal attack. Looking to basically set SotN-esque controls here. Can anyone help? Thanks.

NOTE: This is my very first attempt at anything involving making a video game. I'm a complete noob. Go easy on me, eh?

• I guess you know what you want the player to do to make that attack..

So when those conditions are met play the attack..

So for example:

keyboard down button is down and shift is down

play attack animation

• Well I understand the concept of the thing. What I don't understand is how to make something happen when I'm pressing more than two buttons. I figured out how to crouch attack, but now I can't figure out how to diagonal crouch attack.

down = crouch

down + attack = crouch attack

down + right + attack = ? Not crouch attack.

Is there a way to upload project files here or? I could really use the help of someone who knows this program better than I do. I need more advice than being told to lump conditions together and assigning actions to them. How do I lump them? Do I assign a diagonal crouching attack under down, right, or attack? Know what I mean? I think my problem is that something is conflicting and I'm trying to minimize that.

Thanks!

• Maybe you'd like this:

easy keyboard