How do I open doors to new levels based on a global variable

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Globals 2.0
$3.99 USD
Globals 2.0 stores and group variables. You can also load and save data (variables) from/to JSON files.
  • Hi!

I'm trying to create a map-system from which the player enters new levels.

My approach so far has been like this:

-Create a global variable for storing the number of levels passed

-Create doors on the map as instances of one door object

-Give the doors a boolean instance variable called "unlocked" and set it to False by default.

-Try to loop trough the doors and toggle the boolean if IID of a door is smaller than the global "levelsPassed" variable.

The last part is giving me trouble (and I'm not even sure if my whole approach to this map is a good one).

Here's what I tried for the loop:

Condition 1: For each door order by door.IID ascending

Condition 2: levelsPassed > door.IID

Action: Set unlocked to True

I'm still a newbie and that might be a very bad approach

So in a nutshell, what would be a good way to loop trough my doors and toggle their instance variables based on the number of passed levels?

EDIT:

Turns out I was making a simple mistake and was setting the boolean to false instead of true. So this actually works!!

I guess my only question would be that do you think this IID-dependency will give me trouble later on? Is there a smarter way to assign unique identifiers to the instances?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads