How do I manage multiple room layout

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Add calm and a lounge vibe to your games with these 8 tracks
  • When making a sidescrolling game, all I can think of is everytime you leave the screen go to another layout. For a few levels that's alright but when you start to going further this becomes a nightmare.

I've seen in the metroidvania gamekit from the scirra store a way to do this with 9patch and roomzones but that is way out of my league. I'm a total beginner and that's too advance for me.

Are these the only two options?

• Whats wrong with multiple layouts? What kind of problem you have?

Just remember that you can set some layers as constans. For example hud. So you dont have to copy past them.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Whats wrong with multiple layouts? What kind of problem you have?

Just remember that you can set some layers as constans. For example hud. So you dont have to copy past them.

Is not easy to organize the go to layout gates for each room, and I will end up having way too many rooms, which means way too many layouts. It's not really practical and I'm scared to run into some performance issues.

• Just have 1 invisible box. On collision go to 'next layout'.

• If you are worried about management in the event to keep control of which is what. I did find out that if you can do a function here with a call back. If you name your room to a number or a name. (at this point id keep a journal to write down which room goes where.)

Such as this place a variable on that invisible sprite label it to the room that you want to go to. Next create an event like this if player is overlapping the sprite have the action to be call function With parameter 0 to be the sprite's variable

Next create a function go to layout by name (function.param(0))