How do I make text to show result of another text

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
From the Asset Store
Change delay, create new lines, "backspace" the text
  • I just wanna know, how do I make one text to show a result of a math task in another text?

This is a text for a math task: round(random(1,100)) & choose("+","-","/","*") & round(random(1,100))

Now, I want to make another text, which will show a result of that mathematical task.

How do I do that?

I appreciate your response and help.

• That's quite straightforward. You can store the result of math task in a global variable, then retrieve the variable's value and display it in another text object.

• Ok thanks. But I am having problems doing that.

Can you help me out a little with doing that.

I am still a beginner at Construct 2.

A little help would be appreciated.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • what do you need the first text for ?? you areleady have the math task just set it to the second text ? please explain so we can help!

• I want to have a mathematical task in one text, and the solution (result) of that math task in another text.

Example:

First text: 6 & "/" & 2

Second text: result of the first text. (3)

• Instead of building the first text right away store the two numbers in variables and the operator in another variable. Then you can build the first text with number1&operator&number2. Then just add some conditions checking what the operator and set the second text depending on the operator.

global number number1=0

global number number2=0

global text operator=""

Start of layout

--- set number1 to round(random(1,100))

--- set number2 to round(random(1,100))

--- set operator to choose("+","-","/","*")

--- set Text1 to number1&operator&number2

operator = "+"

--- set text2 to number1+number2

operator = "-"

--- set text2 to number1-number2

... etc