How do I make power-ups for a match 3 game?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
75 power-up sound effects; bonus and notification sounds, fanfares, harp glissandi, stabs, clock ticks, etc.
  • Hello all,

I'm still quite new to Construct 2 and I've been following a tutorial on how to make a match 3 game. This is the link if anyone is interested in taking a look. http://gamedevelopment.tutsplus.com/tut ... medev-8071

I would like to make the game more interesting by throwing in random speciality blocks. I've created a pink block, but I need help with how to make them rare and how to make it explode to destroy many neighboring blocks. Any help is appreciated! thanks!

• A quick note about rare blocks.

I've scanned over the CAPX and you're are using random to select which blocks are spawned which is the way to go. I personally cheat to use "weighted" random's by using the choose() expression.

You could use something like choose(1,1,1,2,2,2,3,3,3,4,4,4,5,5,5,10) Construct will then randomly choose a value from the comma separated list.

All normal blocks would have the same chance of being picked while the special block (10 in the list) would have a rarer chance of being picked. You'd have to tweak the values to get the correct rarity but I think it's a pretty easy way to get this sort effect.

• I will be playing around with it. Thanks so much for the tip!

• Minor I've tried what you said about angeltekno project, but still appear the same colors for the blocks.

There are 18 different frames, and the 19th is for the "special" block. I used choose (1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 3, .......) and nothing happened. I even used (1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1, 2, 3....) but all the blocks appeared with the same frequency. I think the problem is the formula for setting the animation frame which is: (Block.Color-1)*3+1, but if I change it, the game doesn´t work properly.

Moreover, right now the special block doesn´t match with any other special block.

Any idea of what the problem is?