How do I make beat em up jump?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
8 Loopable Tracks, 5 Stingers, and 57 Sound Effects.
  • Hi, guys. I'm new with construct 2.

I'm interested on beat em up developing with depth movement like the Simpsons or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 4 players arcade-style.

My player1 is moving, running and attacking correctly but I have problemas with the jump. Player has no behavior, is coded like this:

if key left left: set player.x to player.x-movement

if key left right set player.x to player.x+movement

if key left up set player.y to player.y-movement

if key left down set player.y to player.y+movement

I don't know how to make the jump in this case with CS2. If I use the platform Behavior I have problemas because the whole area is the ground.

Could anyone help me with this, please?

Thanks

• Hmm, what I'd do is create a jump animation. In each frame, the sprite is a little higher than the last one without you actually having to change it's coordinates manually in an event (of course, when it reaches the top, you make every frame a little lower than the last one). You can add a shadow to the 'floor' of your animation to tell the player at which point in the ground the player will land. Also, you will probably need to modify the bounding box of each frame to wrap around the actual body of the sprite (because if you use the same bounding box throughout the entire animation, enemies will still hit you as if you were on the ground and you won't be able to jump over obstacles either).

I hope I made myself clear

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Hi, monitz87. I have tried with a solid shadow with this logic:

forever: set shadow.x to player.x

forever if not jumping: set shadow.y to player.y