How do I load an image from url, scale but keep the ratio?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
  • Hey, right now I am using the load image from url event with keep current size. Is there any way to scale the images in such a way that they get parsed with their ratio intact? (So for ex say my image container is 100x50, I put in an 50x10 image, I'd like it to be fit as much as possible which would be 100x20 in this example)

• bump

• This could be complicated but a workaround way could be maybe to use conditions to determine which is more out of the proportion you need, width or height. Also have it update a variable of the original size. Resize the image to fit which ever axis was too large by the most (either width or height) use the original value and the new value to work out the percentage to reduce/enlarge the other axis.

I am only new to this and I am finding there is usually an easier way to everything but maybe this might help.

• This could be complicated but a workaround way could be maybe to use conditions to determine which is more out of the proportion you need, width or height. Also have it update a variable of the original size. Resize the image to fit which ever axis was too large by the most (either width or height) use the original value and the new value to work out the percentage to reduce/enlarge the other axis.

I am only new to this and I am finding there is usually an easier way to everything but maybe this might help.

I did not think of this, and is in fact complicated but helpful (I like a challenge ^^) Let's see how far this will get me

• Okay, for the life of ..erm everything? x'D.. I cannot seem to figure this out... Anybody who wants to help a hand: feel free to..

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I now have the following events:

CONDITION

sprite.Width > width (set to width of loaded image)