How do I get my game to save names?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
You must shoot down the enemy planes and eliminate them to earn points.
  • Hi! I'm new to Construct 2 and I need to know how to get my game to save a name the player types in so the game knows what to call you later on. I want to know how to save just the name (because this is before the game even starts) and if possible, how to add saving in general.

Also, how do I make it so characters will say the name that the player choose during dialogue? For example: "Hi (name)! How are you?" Like that.

Thanks in advance!

MKP1000

• First, to save a name you probably want to save it in a global variable. To build a string, you can use &. So set text to "Hi "&NameVariable&"! How are you?"

To save and load, the simplest method is to use the system save and load actions. Local storage is more complex, but gives you more fine control over what to save and load.

• First, to save a name you probably want to save it in a global variable. To build a string, you can use &. So set text to "Hi "&NameVariable&"! How are you?"

To save and load, the simplest method is to use the system save and load actions. Local storage is more complex, but gives you more fine control over what to save and load.

Hi again! Now how exactly would I do that? I apologize, I'm new to this. So I have a text box and a button. My goal is to have it save when I click the button. I make the global string where exactly?

Thanks again,

MKP1000

• Global variable: right click on your event sheet and add variable (text).

Event condition:

Button - On button clicked

Event action:

System - Set variable to TextBox.Text

• Global variable: right click on your event sheet and add variable (text).

Event condition:

Button - On button clicked

Event action: