How do I duplicate ragdolls [SOLVED]

0 favourites
  • Hi everyone. I'm new to Construct 2 development.

I like how one can make complicated things in 2 clics, but unfortunatly, I'm struggling with somewhat simple things since several days...

So here it is: I'm making a game with ragolls falling from the sky. Lots of ragdolls.

My problem is that I have no idea how to duplicate them (AKA system/create).

Do I have to attach each limbs again after having created the ragdoll?

Thanks for your help

• One way would be to put all of the rag doll elements into one Container. Then have a Function that is called when On Create RagDollHead is triggered (assuming RagDollHead is the parent of the container); you only then need to place/create the RagDollHead sprites on your layout and the Container will take care of the rest. In the On Create Function you'll have to code the positioning of the limbs and creating the joints etc, but you'll only have to code it once in your game.

• Could you not just spawn the container, and that container have the 'connected up ragdoll' in it? Or is that not possible?

• Not an option - the container only lists the sprites that are associated with each other. You've still got to tell the physics engine how to connect them together.

• Hi, thanks for your help!!

So I used container and function but I have trouble attaching the limbs correctly to the body. It don't seems to take the set angle into account. Furthermore, attaching limbs to the body seems to give it some force at a random angle. Or maybe is there something that I don't understand?

I've attached a short exemple. Just press spacebar to create a ragdoll.

• Help, I'm still trying to attach the limbs correctly to the body once it has been duplicated...

I've tried "set position" or "set position to another object" but nothing is taken into account, and the body appears with a force that seems to be related to the limbs attached to it... I don't understand.

Thanks for your help !